The Department of Neurosurgery in the College of Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) is dedicated to providing state of the art, compassionate care to our patients. Faculty in the Department of Neurosurgery have expertise in various subspecialties, including seizure surgery, brain implants, pediatric neurosurgery and neuro-oncology, including brachytherapy and radiation surgery. Faculty members are also experienced in neuro-endocrinology and disorders affecting the spine and spinal cord. Special services include peripheral and cranial nerve surgery and treatment of vascular disease.

Our offices and clinics are housed in the Jackson T. Stephens Spine and Neurosciences Institute located adjacent to the UAMS Medical Center. The Stephens Institute is the leading tertiary referral center for the neurosciences in the state of Arkansas. In addition, UAMS is the only level one trauma center in the state.

The Department of Neurosurgery also provides a neurosurgery residency program that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Through this residency program we strive to educate and produce highly skilled, ethical, and compassionate future neurosurgeons.